Captain Cool’s Commentary of Exploits

FaithWriters.com Weekly Challenge
TOPIC: Blog
2nd place Intermediate Division

_____________________________________________________

CAPTAIN COOL’S COMMENTARY OF EXPLOITS        

Thrills, inspiration and wisdom for the superheroes of tomorrow

 

WELCOME LOYAL FOLLOWERS

10/13/11

My years as a heroic superstar have been fraught with chilling peril, exhilarating adventure, triumphant victories and, yes, a few dismal defeats. You may think that I was simply born this amazing and that such grandeur is beyond your reach. However, let me assure you, I put my tights on one leg at a time and I didn’t arrive at A-list status by sitting around on my superhiney wishing upon a star. I worked hard, I persevered, and I achieved.

The life of a superhero is not an easy one, but let’s face it. What would the world do without us? And so it is here that I, Captain Cool, bestow upon you treasure-troves of wisdom.

Don’t miss one gem of an entry. The first 100 subscribers will receive the latest Captain Cool action figure free. Join me … and take your tights to flight!

SHOW YOUR SOFTER SIDE

10/20/11

It was the summer of ’03. I was flying full speed toward Niagara Falls where a small child had just toppled from a railing. I was a few miles away as she reached the crest of the falls when, at that moment, my superhearing detected the sound of a 747 about 70 miles over the Atlantic. The last engine was just going silent and the passengers were screaming.

TIP: When two events requiring immediate attention occur simultaneously, you must act with quick wit. Yes, it would be easy to fetch the child, toss her to her frantic mother and zip across the ocean. However, one must consider the ordeal the small child is experiencing and the further shock that may occur when a muscled man of massive proportions appears out of nowhere and snatches her from a falling mass of water. While the plane is of grave concern, your demeanor in that moment could traumatize the child for life. Strength and speed are essential, yet a gentle touch and soothing word make all the difference.

“You’re gonna be alright, little lady.” I cradled her drenched body, dashed her to the viewing area and eased her into the arms of her mother. The frazzled woman thanked me profusely, while the little girl clutched her mother, peeked back at me shyly and cracked a smile. Mission accomplished. With a wink of the eye, I was off. Seconds later I was under the belly of that 747 delivering it, unscathed, to JFK airport.

GET YOUR Z’s.

10/27/11

There is no consistency for a superhero, no set schedule.Cows wander at random over the tracks of oncoming locomotives, meteor rocks plummet at will, and villains have a tendency to be secretive with their itinerary of evil exploits. A superhero must be ready 24/7.

TIP: It is vital to rest as opportunities arise.

I’ll never forget the weekend I spent party hopping throughout London, Africa, New York and Paris. I captivated other supers with my laser vision, burning my self-portrait into the side of Mt. Kilimanjaro. Among other escapades, I swooned the ladies in Paris with flights to the tip of the Eiffel Tower.

Little did I know the next five days would be marked with unending saves from the Atlantic to the Pacific. By day five I was so wiped that I lacked the necessary strength and fortitude to overtake my nemesis, Dr. Evilosity, when it mattered most.

And this is precisely what he was counting on.

Dr. Evilosity and his minions had been behind every near crash of a plane, train and bus that week, every life threatening explosion and every attempted bank heist. He knew I had weakened myself with my foolishness and he seized the opportunity. Wearing me out further, he thus distracted me from his real plan of sheer evilness … to take over the world.

If Dr. Evilosity hadn’t foiled his own plan by confusing a white house in Washington state with The White House in Washington D.C., we might have all fallen victim to his evil scheme … all because I didn’t bother to rest.

LEARN AND LIVE

11/3/11

Today I give you the official creed established by the Superhero Society of Justice. In order for you to become a superhero of good standing, it is essential for you to learn and live by these words.

We serve with integrity and battle with courage.
We fight for justice and defend with honor.
We are the superheroes of the world.

2 Comments

  1. Jeannie Dexter says:

    SUPERHILLARIOUS! Even at 6am. Great way to start the day. I may do this every morning with my coffee:)

  2. Jeannie Dexter says:

    Oh, and how do I get my Captain Cool action figure?

Leave a Comment